Home / News / Vinod Khanna is BJP candidate from Gurdaspur

Vinod Khanna is BJP candidate from Gurdaspur

The BJP on Tuesday fielded actor-turned-politician Vinod Khanna from the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency. Khanna represented Gurdaspur between 1998 and 2009. He had lost to Pratap Singh Bajwa of the Congress in 2009 by a thin margin.

 The party also decided to field Ram Swaroop Sharma as its candidate against Pratibha Singh in Mandi. She is the sitting MP and wife of Himachal Pradesh chief minister Virbhadra Singh. Sharma, 56, was the BJP’s organisational secretary from 2000 to 2004. Backed by the RSS, he hails from the Jogindernagar assembly segment of Mandi district.

The BJP announced the candidatures of its MLA Keshav Prasad Maurya from Allahabad, ignoring the claim of Sidharth Nath Singh, the grandson of former prime minister Lal Bahadur Shastri. Police had recently registered an FIR against Maurya for inciting students to resort to rioting and arson while delivering a speech at a function in Allahabad University.

  Rajesh Diwakar (Hathras) and Sharad Tripathi (Sant Kabir Nagar) have also been fielded. Sharad is son of former state BJP chief Keshrinath Tripathi.

Arif Majeed Pampori was fielded from Srinagar for the Lok Sabha election.


*HT Media

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top